Wednesday, January 10, 2024 @ 11:00 am

The January 2024 General Membership meeting of the Dallas Police Retired Officers Association took place at Knights of Columbus Hall, 10110 Shoreview Drive, Dallas, TX 75238.

Present:           President David Elliston

                        Vice President Sally Lannom             (departed 11:20 am)

                        Secretary Ken Seguin

                        Treasurer David Potts

                        Director 3 Crista Walker

                        DFR Advisor Larry Williams

Absent:            Director 1 Boux Bland

                        Director 2 Joe Richtsmeier

                        Communications Director Carol Richtsmeier


  1. President Elliston called the meeting to order at 11:02 am.
  2. President Elliston led the membership in the Pledge of Allegiance.
  3. President Elliston announced the names of two police and three firefighters who had passed away during December.
  • Police
    • Billy Williams, Ricardo Silva
  • Fire
    • Cynthia Manion, James Wilcher, K.D. Searcey
  1. Former Vice President Dwight Walker delivered the invocation.
  2. The minutes from the December 2023 meeting had been previously posted on the DPROA website.  A motion was made by member Robert Gutkowski to accept the minutes as posted; seconded by member Dan Town. Motion carried by acclamation with none opposed.
  3. President Elliston stated there was no further update regarding the lawsuit other than appellate lead attorney, former Texas Supreme Court Justice Eva Guzman, had filed an appeal to the 5th Court of Appeals for both a 3-justice rehearing and an en banc hearing by the submission deadline of January 5, 2024.  Her name on the filing document makes it public knowledge that she is now part of the DPROA legal team.
  4. Secretary Seguin reported that candidacy forms for the board positions of Vice President, Treasurer, and Director Place 2 had been received only from incumbents Lannom, Potts, and Richtsmeier for a February election.  Secretary Seguin asked three times if there were any nominations from the floor.  Receiving no response of nominations, he declared that each of the three incumbents were unopposed and would be considered elected and would take their oath of office in March 2024 at the General Membership meeting.
  5. Secretary Seguin briefed the membership on the videoconference that he and Vice President Lannom had with Katie O’Brien of Trinity Public Affairs on January 5, 2024.  The next video conference with Katie O’Brien is scheduled for 9:00 am on January 19, 2024.
  6. Chris Kelley of The Kelley Group is still working on producing videos for a public relations effort.
  7. An ad hoc pension committee presentation is scheduled for 3:00 pm on January 11, 2024 in City Council chambers.  Vice President Lannom and Advisor Williams plan to attend.  It is the first of four that are scheduled, along with February 8, April 11, and May 9.
  8. President Elliston shared the content of a message he and Secretary Seguin had received from active member Glenn Stone who had written to former WFAA anchorman John McCaa who had authored a column published in the Dallas Morning News on/about January 5-6, 2024.  Detective Stone thanked Mr McCaa for reminding City of Dallas officials of their promise and obligation to maintain a pension for First Responders.  Mr McCaa said his personal email address of [email protected] could be shared with Dallas First Responders.
  9. Names of reporters were also discussed as to those who seem to favorably report on First Responders and the pension issue.  Names included Lori Brown, Ken Kalthoff, and Shaun Rabb.  These names could be mentioned to Chris Kelley.
  10. The Cheiron actuarial group will be making an updated presentation to eight councilmembers on the pension committee sometime in February on a date to be determined.
  11. An ad hoc pension committee presentation is scheduled for 3:00 pm on January 11, 2024 in City Council chambers.  Vice President Lannom and Advisor Williams plan to attend.  It is the first of four that are scheduled, along with February 8, April 11, and May 9.
  12. President Elliston reminded everyone that the SMU Post Office box had been closed and all mail should be sent to the new address at: 7150 Skillman Street, Suite 160, #365, Dallas, TX 75231.
  13. President Elliston stated that the monthly Treasurer’s Report for December would be available for review by members after conclusion of today’s meeting.
  14. President Elliston also reminded everyone that annual dues are payable not later than January 31, 2024. Treasurer Potts would accept checks from members at the close of today’s meeting.    Police annual dues are $270.00 and Fire annual dues are $135.00.  Survivors of police officers can change their Full-Active membership to Affiliate membership by writing a letter or an email to the board if they wish to pay reduced annual dues (from $270 to $135) but not have voting privileges.
  15. Secretary Seguin mentioned that it may be helpful for Chris Kelley of The Kelley Group to be made aware of the contact information of Randy Stalnaker and DPROA members Dwight Walker and Larry Eddington, all of whom who were instrumental in the passage of Article 16 Section 66 of the Texas Constitution and was intended to protect First Responders pensions.  (September 13, 2003).
  16. The next General Membership meeting is scheduled for February 14, 2024.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:43 am.


Kenneth E. Seguin