Wednesday, July 12, 2023 @ 11:00 am

The July 2023 General Membership meeting of the Dallas Police Retired Officers Association took place at Knights of Columbus Hall, 10110 Shoreview Drive, Dallas, TX 75238.

Present:           President David Elliston

                        Vice President Sally Lannom

                        Secretary Ken Seguin

                        Director Boux Bland

                        Director Crista Walker

Absent:            Treasurer David Potts

                        Director Joe Richtsmeier

                        DFR Advisor Larry Williams

                        Communications Director Carol Richtsmeier


  1. President Elliston called the meeting to order at 11:02 am.
  2. President Elliston welcomed attendees and announced that there would be a guest speaker from The Senior Source at the conclusion of the regular business meeting.
  3. President Elliston led the membership in the Pledge of Allegiance.
  4. President Elliston announced the names of nine police and firefighters who had passed away during May, June and July.
  • Police
    • Darryl Gary, Charles Storey, Jimmy Stone, David Peeples, Robert Johnson, Christopher Jackson, Claude Standrige,, Harold Andrews
  • Fire
    • Garland Beaty
  1. President Elliston delivered the invocation.
  2. The minutes from the June 2023 meeting had been previously posted on the DPROA website.  A motion was made by member Robert Gutkowski to accept the minutes as posted; seconded by member Robert Benitez. Motion carried by acclamation with none opposed.
  3. President Elliston reported that there was no new information on the Annual Adjustment / Benefit Supplement lawsuit.
  4. President Elliston announced that the election for Police Officer Trustee and Firefighter Trustee had been conducted June 13-28, 2023 with only active members voting.  These were the results.  There will be a run-off election in July for the Fire position.
    • Police
    • Michael Taglienti       132 votes         55.46%
    • Kenneth Haben           76 votes           31.93%            (incumbent)
    • Zachary Knetzer         30 votes           12.61%
    • TOTAL                       238 voters of 3,048 eligible voters (7.81%)

    • Fire
    • Armando Garza          124 votes         31.55%            (incumbent)
    • Matthew Shomer        97 votes           24.68%
    • David Waks                87 voters         22.14%
    • David Hatch                85 votes           21.63%
    • TOTAL                       393 voters of 2.024 eligible voters (19.42%)
  1. President Elliston stated that Councilmember Chad West sent a request to ACM (Public Safety) Jon Fortune on getting credit monitoring for retirees, in addition to that sought for active police and fire members.  He has not yet received a response from Mr Fortune.
  2. President Elliston noted that the Ratliff Company lobbyist had provided the monthly report but that there were no bills that were passed that had direct impact on DPROA membership.
  3. The next General Membership meeting is scheduled for August 9, 2023.
  4. Director Walker stated that although Treasurer Potts was not in attendance, she would accept any dues payments that members might want to make.
  5. President Elliston announced that the Executive Board plans to have guest speakers for the October and November meetings who would address post-retirement medical insurance options.
  6. President Elliston introduced guest speakers Gretchen Feinhals and Carl Burlbaw from the Senior Source, a not-for-profit organization that focuses on the needs of senior citizens in the Dallas area, who gave a 40-minute presentation.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:59 am.


Kenneth E. Seguin